Day 16: March 16, 2023 – Ping!

Ping!

March Madness is here, and with it, newfound humility. Every year, I think I’ve got it in the bag; this is my year. And every year, on the first day, I don’t got it. I picked the wrong upset, a number one seed lost, I thought I submitted a different bracket than I did. 

This year, I have a bracket with my family, my work, and my friends. Three chances! To… be humbled. At work today, my coworker and I were messaging back and forth starting promptly at 12:15pm. OOOhhhs and SOO close were constantly pinging, throughout the meetings we were both in, and despite us sitting directly across from each other. I would catch him chuckle and he would catch me wince. 

Ping! “Game’s on!” A message flashed across my screen. I smiled. Oliver (fake name) and I had bonded over sports before during the week, starting with tennis and continuing on with the world cup and the super bowl. 

“Let the madness begin!” I replied. Work and my friends are always fun because with them, unlike with my family, I actually feel competent in sports. The pings continued, and I had all four games on at once. 

“I think I had Furman,” Oliver messaged. I rolled my eyes. 

“You did not,” I typed back. 

“If they could only stop fouling,” then “oh snap!” and “duuuuude,” and finally, “F****CK,” “OHHH,” “SH**,” and “WHAAAAAAT!” What is he talking about? And then, two seconds later, I understood. He was ahead of me, and just totally spoiled the end of the UVA – Furman game. 

I can only imagine the reactions to the Arizona game. 



3 responses to “Day 16: March 16, 2023 – Ping!”

  1. I definitely should have created more brackets because this one is sunk. You capture the interaction in a fun and funny way. Maybe one year you will be less…humbled.

    Like

  2. “Got it in the bag… don’t got it”
    …”to be…humbled “
    Your dry wit really comes through and you entertained me even though I don’t follow and barely know what you are talking about😆 great letting the texts tell a lot of the story, they give us that fun and playful and comfortable relationship.

    Like

  3. LOL it’s too real to feel competent with friends vs our family. Also our posts today are scarily similar. I’m glad you didn’t also write about Dad hahahaha

    Like

Leave a comment

About Me

Welcome! I’ve decided to join in the fun this year and try my hand at writing a little something every day for the month of March. HOPEFULLY, it’ll instill a pattern and I’ll continue on.

I am currently living in New York City and excited to share daily moments inspired by NYC!

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started